Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)

Posted on December 12, 2011

0


When ever I learn a new Turkish word (something that doesn’t happen often enough), I begin to hear it everywhere. I’m starting to think that after you buy a video camera, you start to see things worth shooting all around you. If last Satuday is any indication of what’s to come, I may be selling a small HD digital camera on E-bay very soon.

I don’t need this much excitement in my life. I just wanted to film the shinanigans of my two pugs.

The night I opened the box of my new video camera, the boza man came down our street. They usually start walking the streets at night as soon as the weather gets cold enough. I have a whole post about these guys http://pondfrogsplash.com/2011/12/11/disturbing-the-peace-repost/, but to sum it up: they sell a fermented winter drink made from corn and wheat. This bozaci came by at about 11:30 at night.

Nice. I’m finally going to be able to capture some of the things that are cool about this city which are difficult to share in only photos and prose.

My wife and I set out that evening with a goal of buying wrapping paper. We were going to wrap our presents while listening to Christmas music and making our dogs where Santa Claus hats and reindeer antlers…just like any other American family.

I decided to take the camera, and film some of our neighbors. We stopped by the camci (glass bead maker) to chat and make him say merry Christmas. Hakan is a retired business man who now occupies himself by owning an atisan’s kiosk. We love speaking with him about his sons, his olive grove in Çannakkale, and the neighborhood gossip. He’s a true friend and even generously shared his cognac with us and some other locals for an impromptude block party. We purchased some of glass rings that he infuses with good luck. A claim which I now firmly believe. I was really begining to feel the Christmas spirit and enjoy playing with my new digital toy when two loud crashes cocked everyone’s head up the street. A middle-aged couple strangely ran down the street hand-in-hand then darted into the tea garden of the Nazim Hikmet Külür Merkezi.

Posted in: Istanbul, Neighbors