Expat Cravings: Banana Bread Surprise

Posted on June 15, 2011

11


So yesterday, Stephen mentioned that he was hankerin’ for banana bread.  That’s the kind of stuff he says–hankerin’.  I’m a housewife tonight while Stephen is working.  Therefore, I have nothing better to do than attempt to make chocolate banana bread for my husband.  I’ve never made banana bread or any bread ever.   So we can figure this out together.  I got a recipe from simplyrecipes.com.  It looks easy enough.  I have collected the ingredients to the best of my ability.  See photo below.

If Stephen had taken this picture it would have looked better and been far more artsy, but he isn’t here right now, is he?  You may notice the weird vile in front of the sugar.  This is what vanilla extract looks like here.  It can be difficult to find and many places just don’t carry it.  And good luck finding chocolate chips in this country.  I have never seen them, but I’m assuming if you have, then they were individually created by a gypsy and are being sold for 50 kuruş a peice.  Therefore, I will be breaking a chocolate bar as best I can.  I couldn’t decide if I should use dark or milk chocolate, so I just bought both.  I’m now going to begin mixing stuff together.

I think that looks like 1/3 cup butter, don’t you?  It says you should melt the butter but I don’t have a microwave.  I thawed it earlier.

I don’t know what I would do without a hammer!  So much of my food involves me crushing things with a hammer.  I have to crush almonds for my curried lentil stew.  I have to crush the pods and peanuts to make Pad Thai (blog coming soon).  I couldn’t think of a better way to get small pieces of chocolate!  Be glad that you live in a land where things come pre-crushed.

Chocolate was crushed and added ( I chose the dark chocolate ‘ to balance the sweetness of the banana’), egg was beaten and added, 1 cup sugar added, 1 teaspoon vanilla added and mixed.

After mixing, you are supposed to add a pinch of salt, a teaspoon of baking soda and 1 and 1\2 cups  flour and then mix again.  Does flour smells like Christmas to anyone else?

This is what mine looks like all mixed together.  Is is supposed to be so goopy?

The recipe says to preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  If you are a humble couple like Stephen and I, you have a mini-oven which only goes up to 250.  Shall we set it to 150 and watch very carefully?  I have enough dough for two batches so let’s just experiment with this one.

I was wrong.  There’s only enough for one.  It’s make it or break it time.  I’m gonna turn it up to 200 because it says you should bake this for 1 hour.  I’m scared.

The time is 9:45.  Stephen will be home in apx. 25 minutes.  This will not be ready of course, but he will never notice there is something in the oven.  In my experience, these mini-ovens cook things much faster than a larger oven.  Essentially, they are very slow microwaves.  I really don’t know what is going to happen.

Miracle of all miracles:  Cari made banana bread!  Exactly 1 hour later, on 200 degrees in a mini-oven, we are enjoying some really good banana bread!  That was easy actually, it was just the suspense of the oven degrees and timing that killed me.  Now that I have nothing to fear, I will be making this again.

